Phone operators

Vote up 67%
Vote up 33%


Mark Peters
brand Mobile World Congress category Corporate

Leading mobile phone operators join GSMA

content type Press information Mail the editor Posted by Mark Peters
Friday, April 11th 2008 - 08:19 CEST - Comments: 0
T he chief executives of MTS of Russia, SK Telecom of Korea, Telstra of Australia, Telecom Italia and Zain, which operates in 22 countries, have all joined the board of the GSM Association, the global trade association for the mobile industry. Leonid A. Melamed of MTS, Shin-Bae Kim of SK Telecom, Solomon Trujillo of Telstra, Franco Bernabè of Telecom Italia and Dr Saad Al-Barrak of Zain join other high-level representatives of the world's leading mobile operators on the GSMA's 27-strong board.
Mail to friendMail to friend Bookmark ArticleBookmark Article Post Comment

Mail your friend

Your name:
Your friend's name:
Your friend's email:

Mobile phone operators


Mobile phone operators

"The outstanding calibre and the geographic breadth of our new board members reflects the GSMA's position as the pre-eminent  trade group for the global mobile industry," said Craig Ehrlich, Chairman of the GSMA. "Their wealth of experience and leadership qualities will further enhance our ability to address the many strategic opportunities and challenges arising from the convergence of mobile services with the Internet, entertainment, computing, financial services and other sectors."




The GSMA's board now comprises:


  • Hutchison Mobile: Craig Ehrlich (Chairman), Board Member
  • AT&T: Bill Hague, Executive VP Roaming and Int.
  • Bharti Airtel: Manoj Kohli, President & CEO
  • China Mobile: Lu Xiangdong, VP, Member of governing board
  • China Unicom: Zhang Fan, CTO
  • GSMA: Rob Conway, CEO
  • KTF: Dr Young-Chu Cho, President and CEO
  • Mobilkom: Boris Nemsic, Group President & CEO
  • MTN: Phuthuma Nhleko, Group President & CEO
  • MTS: Leonid A. Melamed, CEO
  • NTT DoCoMo: Takanori Untano, EVP & CTO
  • Orange : Brigitte Bourgoin, EVP, Head of personal line of business
  • Orascom: Naguib Sawiris, Chairman & CEO
  • Singapore Telecom: Ng Yoke Weng, CIO/CTO
  • SK Telecom: Shin-Bae Kim, CEO
  • Smart: Napoleon Nazareno, President & CEO
  • Softbank: Tetsuzo Matsumoto, Chief Strategy Officer
  • T-Mobile: Joachim Horn, CTO
  • Telefonica: Vivek Dev, COO, Telefonica/O2
  • Telenor: Arve Johansen, Senior EVP/Deputy CEO, Head Asia operations
  • Telstra: Solomon Trujillo, CEO
  • TIM: Franco Bernabè, CEO
  • Turkcell: Muzaffer Akpinar, Board Member
  • VimpelCom: Alexander Izosimov, CEO
  • Vodafone: Terry Kramer, Group Strategy & HR Director, Chief of Staff
  • Zain: Dr Saad Al-Barrak, CEO
  • GSMA Executive Management Committee Chair: Stein Hansen, Senior Vice President, Telenor


Rob Conway, CEO of the GSMA and Member of the Board, added: "We are delighted to be joined on the board by so many industry leading CEOs. Their presence will ensure that the Association's agenda fully echoes that of the global mobile industry and its more than three billion customers."

related links

Next or Previous article


Loading comments

Product reviews



Mobile World Congress

email address email address